1. Dating & Relationships
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in our forum

Alaska Marriage License Information -- Getting Married in Alaska

By

One of the advantages to getting married in Alaska is that you can have a friend or relative perform your marriage ceremony. Beautiful locations are another bonus for choosing to have your wedding in Alaska.

ID Requirement:

Picture ID such as a driver's license. If application is mailed or faxed in, it must be witnessed by a Notary Public.

Residency Requirement:

You do not have to be a resident of Alaska.

Previous Marriages:

If divorced within the last 60 days, a certified copy of the divorce decree is needed.

Covenant Marriage:

No.

Waiting Period:

Three (3) business days.

Fees:

Approximately $40.

Other Tests:

No blood or medical tests required.

Proxy Marriage:

No.

Cousin Marriage:

Yes.

Common Law Marriage:

No.

Same Sex Marriages: No.

Under 18: Need certified copy of birth certificate, both parents must be present with identification, or if you have a legal guardian they must be present with a court order and identification.

Officiants: A minister, priest, recognized leader, or rabbi of any church or congregation in the state, a commissioned officer of the Salvation Army, marriage commissioner, or a judicial officer of the state.

Additionally, Alaska allows a friend or relative to perform your marriage ceremony.
"Under Alaska Statute 25.05.261(a)(2) 1, anyone can perform your marriage ceremony, including a friend or relative, if they first obtain a marriage commissioner appointment from an Alaskan court as authorized by AS 25.05.081.2 The person should be 18 years of age or older, and does not need to be a resident of Alaska or the United States in order to perform the ceremony."
Source: Alaska Court System: Marriage Commissioner Information

Miscellaneous: License is valid for ninety (90) days anywhere in Alaska.

Copy of Certificate of Marriage:
Bureau of Vital Statistics Alaska Department of Health and Social Services
P.O. Box 110610
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0610
Phone: 907-465-3393
Fax: 907-586-1877

PLEASE NOTE: State and borough marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.

It is important that you verify all information with your local vital statistics office or borough official before making any wedding or travel plans.

Please notify us of any oversights or errors.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.