1. Dating & Relationships
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in our forum

Applying for a Marriage License in Arizona -- How to Get Married in Arizona

By

Red stone formations overlooking still lake
David Henderson/ OJO iMages/ Getty Images
If you've just set a date for your wedding, this can be an exciting time for the two of you! Don't let the marriage laws of Arizona put a dent in your wedding plans.

Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for an Arizona marriage license.

We recommend getting the paper work aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your wedding date.

Congratulations and much happiness as you begin your lifetime journey together!

Requirements may vary as each county in Arizona could have their own requirements.

Residency Requirement:

You do not have to be a resident of Arizona.

ID Requirement:

Picture identification such as Drivers License is required in Arizona. Having your Social Security card, Birth Certificate, etc. may be helpful.

Previous Marriages:

Copies of divorce decree are not required in Arizona.

Covenant Marriage Option:

Yes. Premarital counseling from a marriage counselor a member of the clergy is required for this type of marriage. Read more about Arizona's covenant marriage law.

Waiting Period:

There is no waiting period in Arizona to get married.

Fees:

It will cost you approximately $72.00 -- cash or money order in most Arizona counties -- to get married in Arizona.

Other Tests:

No Tests.

Proxy Marriages:

No.

Cousin Marriages:

Yes, first cousins may marry if both are sixty-five years of age or older. If one or both first cousins are under sixty-five years of age, they can marry if they show proof to a superior court judge that one of them is unable to reproduce.

Common Law Marriages:

No.

Same Sex Marriages:

No.

Under 18:

If you are 16 or 17 years old, you must have the notarized consent of your parents or legal guardian. If you are under 16, you must have the notarized consent of your parents or legal guardian as well as a court order.

Officiants:

Licensed or ordained ministers, clergymen, or pastors of recognized religious societies.

Miscellaneous:

The license expires one year from the date of issuance.

Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

Marriage and divorce records in Arizona are available from the County Court in the county where the event occurred.

PLEASE NOTE:

State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.

It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.

Please notify us of any oversights or errors.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.