If you've just set a date for your wedding, this can be an exciting time for the two of you! Don't let the marriage license laws of Colorado put a dent in your wedding plans.
Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a Colorado marriage license. Remember some requirements may vary as each county in Colorado could have their own regulations. We recommend getting this legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your wedding date.
Congratulations and much happiness as you begin your lifetime journey together!
In Colorado, you will need to bring government issued ID such as your drivers license, visa, passport, state or military ID. Bring your social security cards, too.
Neither one of you have to be a resident of Colorado. Colorado is a great state for a destination wedding!
Covenant Marriage Option:
No. Colorado is not offering this option at this time.
Waiting Period and Tests:
There is no waiting period for getting married in Colorado and there are no required tests.
$10+, and the fees may vary from county to county in Colorado. Some counties require cash, so don't leave home without it!
If you've been married previously, Colorado requires that you bring a certified copy of your divorce decree or a copy of your deceased spouse's death certificate.
Yes, but only if either the groom or bride cannot appear due to illness, is out of the state of Colorado, or incarcerated, then he or she can obtain an absentee application. It must be notarized. Identification for the absent party must be provided by the other soon-to-be spouse when applying for the license.
More information about proxy marriages
Common Law Marriages:
Yes. The minimum age for common law marriages in the state of Colorado is the same as the ages required by the Colorado Uniform Marriage Act. In other words, if you are not both at least 18 years old, a common law marriage is not recognized. This applies no matter where the common law marriage was entered into. (C.R.S. 14-2-104 and 14-2-109.5)
Same Sex Marriages:No. In 2006, voters passed a constitutional amendment that defined marriage as just between a man and a woman. However in March 2013 the Colorado legislature approved legislation allowing same-sex couples to enter civil unions as of May 1, 2013.
Under 18:If you are 16 or 17, in Colorado you will need consent of both parents (or parent having legal custody), or guardian, or seek judicial approval. If you are under 16, a Judicial Court Order along with parental consent is necessary.
Officiants:Couples themselves may solemnize their own marriage (C.R.S 14-2-109) in Colorado. They must apply for paper work from the County Courthouse in order to do this. However, friends or relatives cannot solemnize their marriage. Out-of-state Clergy need not be registered in Colorado.
Miscellaneous:A marriage license is valid in Colorado for 30 days.
You can obtain your actual marriage license aka certificate of marriage from the clerk and recorder's office of the county where the license was issued.
Verification of your marriage can be received from:
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, Colorado 80346-1530
Telephone: (303) 692-2234
Still Confused About Getting Married in Colorado?If you are still confused about the different terms used in the marriage license application process, check out these articles:
Please note that we make every effort to offer you common-sense marriage advice and helpful information about marriage on this website, but we are not attorneys and the articles on the site are not to be construed as legal advice. We have a world-wide audience and marriage laws and regulations vary from state to state and country to country. When in doubt, seek legal counsel.
The information in this article was accurate when it was published. It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.
Please notify us of any oversights or errors.