1. Dating & Relationships
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in our forum

Connecticut Marriage License Information -- How to Get Married in Connecticut

By

If you've just set a date for your wedding, this can be an exciting time for the two of you! Don't let the marriage license laws of Connecticut put a dent in your wedding plans.

Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a Connecticut marriage license.

We recommend getting this legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your wedding date.

Requirements may vary as each county in Connecticut could have their own requirements.

Congratulations and much happiness as you begin your lifetime journey together!

ID and Residency Requirements:

Connecticut law requires that you present photo id such as a driver's license or a passport. You also need to know the following:
  • Your social security numbers
  • Your mother's maiden name.
  • Your parents' birthplaces.
  • Date and location of your wedding.
  • Name and contact info of your wedding officiant.
You do not have to be a resident of Connecticut, but you do need to apply in either the town where one of you lives, or in the town where you plan on getting married.

If it is difficult for you both to appear at the same time at the Clerk's office to apply for your marriage license, you can appear individually.

Previous Marriages:

You will need to show your divorce decree, or have information regarding date, county and state of death of previous spouse. If your name has changed, you need to bring a certified copy of your divorce decree.

Covenant Marriage Option:

No.

Waiting Period:

None. Some towns may require you to pick the license up the next day.

Fees:

$30-$35 approximately. Fee may vary from county to county. Most locales won't accept credit cards or out-of-state checks. Cash is best, but don't bring bills larger than $20.

Common Law Marriages:

No.

Proxy Marriages:

No. Proxy marriages are not allowed in Connecticut.

Cousin Marriages:

Yes.

Same-Sex Marriages:

Yes. On October 10, 2008, the Connecticut Supreme Court ruled "4 to 3, that the state's civil unions violated the constitutional guarantees of equal protection under the law." As of November 12, 2008, same-sex marriages are legal in Connecticut.
Source: Lisa W. Foderaro. "Gay Marriages Begin in Connecticut." NYTimes.com. 11/12/08.

Additionally, effective 10/01/2005, same-sex couples can be legally united through a civil union. If the ceremony is performed at City Hall, an officiant such as the City Clerk pronounces couples as "partners in life." See Side Bar for more information about civil unions in Connecticut.

Under 18:

If under sixteen years of age, the written consent of the judge of probate for the district where the minor resides must be obtained. Written parental consent is needed if under 18 years of age.

Officiants:

Judges, retired judges, Connecticut state referees, Connecticut justices of the peace, and ordained or license clergymen (belonging to any state) may perform weddings in Connecticut. If a friend or relative wants to perform your wedding ceremony, they can if an authorized officiator is also present to confirm your marriage ceremony and to sign your marriage license.

Miscellaneous:

A marriage license in Connecticut is valid for sixty-five (65) days and is only valid in Connecticut.

Blood Tests:

As of 10/01/2003 the blood test requirement was repealed.

Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

You will need to contact the Town Clerk in the city or town where your marriage occurred.

PLEASE NOTE:

State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.

It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.