1. People & Relationships
Send to a Friend via Email

Discuss in our forum

Delaware Marriage License Information

By

ID Requirement:

You will need to present photo identification such as your driver's license, state ID, or passport.

Residency Requirement:

You do not have to be a resident of Delaware.

Previous Marriages:

You will need to show the original or a certified copy of your divorce decree or the death certificate of a deceased spouse.

Covenant Marriage:

No.

Waiting Period:

24 hours. If both of you are nonresidents, there is a 96 hours waiting period.

Fees:

Approximately $35. Cash only in most counties.

Other Tests:

None.

Proxy Marriage:

No.

Cousin Marriage:

No.

Common Law Marriage:

No.

Same Sex Marriage:

Yes.

Under 18:

You will need signed parental consent forms provided by the Clerk of the Peace office.

Officiants:

Any ordained minister, and clerks of the peace. If you have your marriage ceremony at the office of the Clerk of the Peace, there is a $20 fee for the civil marriage ceremony.

Miscellaneous:

License is valid for thirty (30) days. If either one of you is on probation or parole, you will need special authorization.

Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

Office of Vital Statistics
P.O. Box 637
Dover, DE 19903
Elsewhere on the Web

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.