Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a Minnesota marriage license. We recommend getting this legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your wedding date.
Congratulations and much happiness as you begin your lifetime journey together!
Residency Requirement:You do not have to be a resident of Minnesota.
ID Requirement:You must provide proper identification along with Social Security numbers.
Call before you leave to get your marriage license application to make sure that the fee hasn't changed. Be prepared to pay in cash.
Common Law Marriages:
Additionally, make sure that you have proof of attending the premarital education course on the state approved form.
Same Sex Marriages:No.
Under 18:Brides and grooms who are 16 and 17 years old need parental consent or court approval.
Minnesota Statute 517.02
Officiants:Judges, clerks of court, court commissioners, and licensed ministers, priests or rabbis, as well as representatives of Bahai, Hindu, Quaker and American Indian religious groups are authorized to perform weddings in Minnesota.
Witnesses:You will need at least two witnesses at your wedding ceremony. The witnesses must be at least 16 years of age.
Miscellaneous:License is valid for six (6) months.
Attention: Office of the State Registrar
717 Delaware St SE
P.O. Box 9441
Minneapolis, MN 55440-9441
Phone: (612) 676-5120
Fax: (612) 331-5776
PLEASE NOTE:State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.
It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.