1. People & Relationships
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in our forum

Nevada Marriage License Information

By

Couple smiling and about to kiss passionately
Dimitri Otis/Taxi/Getty Images
If you've just set a date for your wedding, this can be an exciting time for the two of you! Don't let the marriage license laws of Nevada put a dent in your wedding plans.

Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a Nevada marriage license. We recommend getting this legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your wedding date.

Congratulations and much happiness as you begin your lifetime journey together!

Requirements may vary as each county and city in Nevada, especially Las Vegas, could have their own requirements.

ID Requirement:

Valid picture identification. Acceptable identification includes valid Driver's License, valid Identification Card from DMV, valid Passport, Resident Alien card, Military ID, or Certified or original Birth Certificate.

If a foreign birth certificate, it must be translated into English and notarized. You need to know your social security number, too!

Residency Requirement:

You do not have to be a resident of Nevada.

Previous Marriages:

If you were previously married, your divorce must be final. You need to know the date (month, year) of your divorce and the location (city and state) where you were divorced.

Covenant Marriage Option:

No.

Waiting Period in Nevada:

There is no waiting period to get married in Nevada.

Fees in Nevada:

You will have to pay $35.00 - $65.00 (depends on County) to get married in Nevada - cash only. Some counties may accept a local check. Clark County (Las Vegas) charges $60 and accepts cash only.

Other Tests:

No blood tests.

Proxy Marriages:

No. Both parties must be present.

Common Law Marriages:

No.

Same Sex Marriages:

No.

Renewing Your Vows:

No. The county clerk's office is prohibited from issuing a new Marriage License to couples currently married.

You may renew your wedding vows at a church or wedding chapel, but they may require you to bring a copy of your Marriage Certificate for proof of marriage before performing the renewal ceremony.

Cousin Marriages:

Not nearer of kin than second cousins or cousins of half blood.

Las Vegas Weddings:

If you are considering having a Las Vegas wedding, please note that as of August 30, 2006, the Friday, Saturday and holiday all-night counter at the Las Vegas Marriage Bureau will only be open from 8 a.m. to midnight. We recommend calling the Las Vegas Marriage Bureau at (702) 671-0600 to verify when they are open.

You can still have your Las Vegas wedding after midnight at one of the many wedding chapels in Las Vegas. You just need to plan a bit more, have $60 in cash, and get your license before the clock strikes twelve.

Under 18:

If you are 16 or 17 years old, you must have one parent or legal guardian present. A notarized written permission is also acceptable. It must be written in English and needs to state the name, birth date, age of the minor child, along with the relationship of the person giving consent. The notary must note that the parent or guardian personally appeared before or was subscribed and sworn to.

If you are under 16, marriage can be authorized only by court order when the request has been filed by either parent or legal guardian.

Officiants:

Any ordained or licensed clergymen who have obtained a certificate of permissions to perform marriages and justices of the peace can perform weddings in Nevada.

Miscellaneous:

Requirements for U.S. citizens and Non U.S. citizens are the same. The license is valid for 1 year from the date it is issued. It may be used anywhere within the State of Nevada.

Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

In Nevada, marriage certificates are stored at the county level. To receive a copy of your marriage certificate, you must contact the County Recorder in the county where you obtained your marriage license. You will need to pay the fees by money order or cashier's check payable to "County Recorder". Personal checks and credit cards are generally not accepted.

The Office of Vital Records can "search for and verify events occurring after 1968 if you submit a request containing the full name(s) of the person whose record you are searching for, the approximate date of the event and the city where you believe the event occurred." There is a fee for each name searched.
Office of Vital Records
4150 Technology Way, Suite 104
Carson City, NV 89706
(775) 684-4242
Fax: (775) 684-4156

PLEASE NOTE:

Please note that we make every effort to offer you common-sense marriage advice and helpful information about marriage on this website, but we are not attorneys and the articles on the site are not to be construed as legal advice.

The information in this article was accurate when it was published. It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.

The marriage site has a world-wide audience and marriage laws and regulations vary from state to state and country to country. When in doubt, seek legal counsel.

Please notify us of any oversights or errors.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.