You must show proof of age in North Carolina. This can be accomplished by providing your driver's license, Military or State ID, passport or certified birth certificate.
You will also need to show proof of your Social Security number. This can be by a W-2 form, payroll stub, or any official document with your Social Security number on it.
You do not have to be a resident of North Carolina.
If previously married, the date of divorce or date of spouse's death must be supplied. If the divorce was within 60 days, a signed copy of the divorce decree will need to be shown.
Covenant Marriage Option:
North Carolina does not have a waiting period.
$50 - cash only. This can change, so make sure to check with the County Clerk's office.
North Carolina does not require you to have any blood tests or physical exams.
No. However, only one of you can apply for the marriage license if a sworn and notarized affidavit from your absent partner is presented.
Yes. However, if you two have a closer relationship than being first cousins, you may not marry in North Carolina.
Common Law Marriages:
Same Sex Marriages:No.
Under 18:Anyone under 20 years of age will need to show a certified copy of their birth certificate. If you are between 16 and 17 years old, you will have to show parental consent. Those who are 14 to 15 years old, you can't get a marriage license without a court order. Anyone under 14 years of age cannot get married.
Officiants:Any ordained or licensed clergymen, and magistrates.
Witnesses:Two witnesses are required.
Miscellaneous:License is valid for sixty (60) days.
NC Vital Records
P.O. Box 29537
Raleigh, NC 27626-0537
Phone: (919) 733-3526