If you've just set a date for your wedding, this can be an exciting time for the two of you! Don't let the marriage license laws of Ohio put a dent in your wedding plans.
Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a Ohio marriage license. We recommend getting this legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your wedding date.
Congratulations and much happiness as you begin your lifetime journey together!
Requirements may vary as each county in Ohio could have their own requirements.
Residency Requirement in Ohio:
You do not have to be a resident of Ohio to get married in Ohio, but if you are not a resident, then you must apply for the marriage license in the county in which you want to get married and where your marriage will be solemnized.
If you are a resident of Ohio, you must apply for your marriage license in the county in which one or the other of you lives.
ID Requirement:Government issued ID such as drivers license, visa, passport, state ID. You need to know your social security numbers.
Bring certified copy of divorce decree or a copy of deceased spouse's death certificate.
Covenant Marriage Option:
Waiting Period in Ohio:
There is no waiting period in Ohio.
Fees in Ohio:
It will cost you approximately $50+ to get married in Ohio, and depending on county - Cash only. Some counties accept money orders. Call the probate court where you want to get married to verify the cost and payment procedures.
Common Law Marriages:
Yes, if entered into a common law marriage before October 10, 1991. Otherwise, no.
Same Sex Marriages:No. In November, 2004, voters passed a constitutional amendment to define marriage as a union between one man and one woman.
Under 18:If you are 18 to 21 years of age, you will need to show your birth certificate. Persons aged 16-17 must have consent to marry from parents or legal guardians and may have to contact the Probate Court. Additionally, the Judge may require the minors to state that they have received marriage counseling that is satisfactory to the court. Section 3101.05 also mentions how the court will deal with a pregnant minor.
Officiants in Ohio:Any ordained or licensed clergymen who have presented their ordination credentials to the county probate judge, and justices of the peace.
Miscellaneous:License is valid for sixty (60) days.
Bureau of Vital Statistics
Ohio Department of Health
35 East Chestnut Street, 6th Floor
P.O. Box 15098
Columbus, OH 43215-0098
Phone: (614) 466-2531
Still Confused About Getting Married in Ohio?If you are still confused about the different terms used in the marriage license application process, check out these articles:
Please note that we make every effort to offer you common-sense marriage advice and helpful information about marriage on this website, but we are not attorneys and the articles on the site are not to be construed as legal advice.
The information in this article was accurate when it was published. It is important that you verify all information with your local probate court or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.
This Marriage site has a world-wide audience and marriage laws and regulations vary from state to state and country to country. When in doubt, seek legal counsel.
Please notify us of any oversights or errors.