Getting Married Process:Process: 1. Apply for and fill out a marriage license application.
2. Have your wedding ceremony.
3. Make sure the officiant at your wedding signed and recorded your marriage license.
4. After a reasonable amount of time (varies from locale to locale), you should have received or are able to pick up your marriage certificate.
Residency Requirement in Oklahoma:
ID Requirement:In most Oklahoma counties you only need one valid ID, such as a state issued unexpired driver's license, or a birth certificate with a raised seal, or a passport.
Unacceptable identification may include privately issued I.D., check cashing cards, photocopies or faxed copies of I.D., and damaged or expired I.D. cards.
Covenant Marriage Option:
Waiting Period in Oklahoma:
Fees in Oklahoma:
Couples who show proof of attending a state approved premarital counseling course will be charged only $5 for a marriage license.
Check with the County Court Clerk to make sure the marriage preparation course facilitator has been approved. See Title 43, Section 5.1 of the Oklahoma Statues for more information.
Proxy Marriages in Oklahoma:
Cousin Marriages in Oklahoma:
Common Law Marriages in Oklahoma:
Same Sex Marriages in Oklahoma:No. In November, 2004, voters passed a constitutional amendment banning same sex marriage.
Under 18 in Oklahoma:Parents must appear at the courthouse with the couple to sign a consent form. Minors must wait three days (72 hours) before the marriage license is valid. If you are 16 or 17, you must have your birth certificate with you.
A person who is under the age of 16 may not get married in Oklahoma without a court order.
Officiants in Oklahoma:Any ordained or licensed clergymen, and justices of the peace. There is an additional $10 fee for having your wedding ceremony conducted by a judge.
Officiants (both residents and nonresidents) need to have on file with the court clerk a copy of "the credentials or authority from his or her church or synagogue authorizing him or her to solemnize marriages." See Oklahoma Statutes, Title 43, Section 7 for more information.
Miscellaneous:The marriage license may be used anywhere in Oklahoma. It must be returned to the Court Clerk for recording no more than thirty (30) days from the date of its issuance. See Title 43, Section 6 of the Oklahoma Statues for more information. The Oklahoma marriage license is valid for 30 days. What this means is you two have 90 days to get married and have your marriage license officially recorded. If you wait past that time frame, you can't get married without applying for and paying for another marriage license.
Copy of Certificate of Marriage:These are filed at the County level. (Click on County Government tab for a drop down list of Oklahoma counties.)
Still Confused About Getting Married in Oklahoma?If you are still confused about the different terms used in the marriage license application process, these articles may help:
PLEASE NOTE:State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.
It is important that you verify all information with the county court clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.