Getting Married in Oregon?
Here's help in what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for an Oregon marriage license.
Congratulations and much happiness as you begin your lifetime journey together! Remember that requirements may vary as counties could have their own requirements.
Residency and ID Requirements in Oregon:
You do not have to be a resident of Oregon.
You will need to provide a driver's license or some sort of ID card.
You only have to wait one day after your divorce is final to get remarried. The date of the final divorce decree is needed on the marriage license application. Some counties may require a copy of the final divorce decree.
Premarital Education in Oregon:
Whether or not you will need to receive premarital education depends on the community. Some counties in Oregon do require premarital education.
Waiting Period in Oregon:
There is a three day waiting period in Oregon. Some counties may waive the waiting fee for an approximate additional payment of $10.00.
Fees in Oregon:
It will cost you between $50.00+ to get married in Oregon. Cash is required in most counties.
Yes. In May 2014, U.S. District Judge Michael McShane ruled that the 2004 gay marriage ban was unconstitutional. An emergency stay of the ruling was denied.
As of February 1, 2008, residents of Oregon could register for domestic partnerships and receive many rights, benefits, privileges and immunities that are given to married couples in Oregon.
More information about domestic partnerships in Oregon
If you aren't 17 years of age, you can't get married in Oregon. Individuals 17 years of age will need parental consent. The consenting parent or guardian must accompany the applicant when applying for the marriage license. There is no waiver for anyone under the age of 17.
Officiants:Judges, County Clerks or their Deputies, Justices of Peace, and ministers, pastors, priests, rabbis may perform wedding ceremonies in Oregon.
Witnesses:Two witnesses who are at least 18 years of age are needed at the wedding ceremony.
Miscellaneous:License is valid for 60 days.
Oregon Health Division
Vital Statistics Section
P.O. Box 14050
Portland, OR 97293-0050
Phone: (503) 731-4095
Still Confused About Getting Married in Oregon?If you are still confused about the different terms used in the marriage license application process, check out these articles:
Please note that we make every effort to offer you common-sense marriage advice and helpful information about marriage on this website, but we are not attorneys and the articles on the site are not to be construed as legal advice.
The information in this article was accurate when it was published. It is important that you verify all information with your local probate court or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.
This Marriage site has a world-wide audience and marriage laws and regulations vary from state to state and country to country. When in doubt, seek legal counsel.
Please notify us of any oversights or errors.