1. People & Relationships
Send to a Friend via Email

Discuss in our forum

Getting Married in South Dakota

By

ID Requirement:

Driver's licenses or a certified copy of your birth certificate is acceptable.

Residency Requirement:

You do not have to be a resident of South Dakota.

Previous Marriages:

A certified copy of the divorce decree is required. A plain copy of the death certificate is all that is required if your spouse is deceased.

Covenant Marriage Option:

No.

Waiting Period:

No waiting period.

Fees:

Approximately $45.00, although some counties may require cash or travelers' checks only.

Other Tests:

No tests required.

Proxy Marriage:

No.

Cousin Marriage:

No.

Common Law Marriage:

No.

Same Sex Marriages:

No.

Under 18:

If you are at least 16 years of age, but not yet 18 years old, you will have to provide written notarized consent from your parents or guardian. You will also have to show proof of age. Those under 16 years of age may not get married in South Dakota.

Officiants:

Any ordained or licensed clergymen, justices of the supreme court, judges of the circuit court, magistrates, and justices of the peace.

Miscellaneous:

License is valid for 20 days.

Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

Vital Records
State Department of Health
600 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501-2536
Phone: (605) 773-4961

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.