Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a Virginia marriage license. We recommend getting this legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your wedding date.
Congratulations and much happiness as you begin your lifetime journey together!
ID Requirement:You will need to present valid photo identification such as your driver's license, military ID, state ID, or passport and a certified copy of your birth certificate.
According to some of the Virginia Circuit Court websites, both of you must be present in order to obtain a marriage license.
Residency Requirement:You do not have to be a resident of Virginia.
Some Virginia counties may require documentation to prove a previous marriage has been dissolved either through death or divorce.
Covenant Marriage Option:
Waiting Period in Virginia:
There's no waiting period in Virginia.
Fees in Virginia:
Expect to pay approcimately $30 to get married in Virginia. Cash only.
Common Law Marriages:
Same Sex Marriages:No.
Under 18:If either of you are under 18 years of age, you must have written, notarized consent from a parent or your legal guardian.
Officiants in Virginia:Any ordained minister who can show proof of ordination. Marriage Commissioners,and Judges (Circuit Court, District Court, or retired) in Virginia may also perform civil weddings.
Miscellaneous:License is valid for sixty (60) days.
Copy of Certificate of Marriage:
Office of Vital Records and Health Statistics
State Health Department
P.O. Box 1000
Richmond, VA 23218-1000
PLEASE NOTE:State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.
It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.