You will need to present photo identification such as your driver's license, state ID, or passport. You will also need to know your parents' full names, including your mothers' maiden names, and the states where they were born.
You do not have to be a resident of West Virginia. However, if you are a West Virginia resident, you must apply in the county where you live.
Most counties will require documentation to prove a previous marriage has been dissolved either through death or divorce.
Covenant Marriage Option:
$36 approximately. Fee may vary from county to county. Cash only.
Common Law Marriages:
Same Sex Marriages:
If either of you are under 18 years of age, you must have the consent (in person) of a parent or guardian. There will be a three-day waiting period after you apply for the license. There may be special provisions for an under aged bride who is pregnant.
Any ordained minister who has received authorization to perform marriages in the state of West Virgina. The court in each city and county has appointed persons who are eligible to perform civil weddings.
License is valid for sixty (60) days.
For marriage records, you will need to contact the Marriage License Clerk, County Court House in there county where the license was issued.