1. Dating & Relationships
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in our forum

Community Property States


Definition: Community property states in the United States are:
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Idaho
  • Louisiana
  • Nevada
  • New Mexico
  • Texas
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin
  • Territory of Puerto Rico.

Their laws state that property accumulated during a marriage would be divided equally in the event of a divorce.

Other states have a policy of dividing assets on an equitable distribution basis.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.