As you begin your lifetime journey together, know we wish you much happiness!
Kansas Residency Requirement:You do not have to be a resident of Kansas.
Kansas ID Requirement:In some counties, both of you don't have to be present when applying for the license. If only one of you is present, you will need to have all the documentation and know the information that would be required from your future spouse. Application and Affidavit application and affidavit
You need to apply at the District Court Clerk's Office. Driver's license and your social security card, or other type of photo identification is required.
Previous Marriages:If either of you were previously married, you will need to know the date of the final divorce decree or death of spouse. You may need to wait 30 days past the date of your final decree before being allowed to get remarried.
Kansas Premarital Education:
Covenant Marriage:According to the Kansas Supreme Court Law Library, as of April 2012, no. There was a bill authorizing covenant marriage in Kansas but it was referred to Committee on Judiciary on 2/10/2011.
Waiting Period in Kansas:
Other Tests in Kansas:
Proxy Marriage in Kansas:
Cousin Marriage in Kansas:
Common Law Marriage in Kansas:
Same Sex Marriages in Kansas:No.
Under 18:The minimum age to get married is 15 in Kansas. This legislation can be waived only by a district court judge who thinks that getting married at such a young age would be in that individual's best interest.
Teens who are 16 or 17 years old need to obtain one of the following in order to get married in Kansas:
- Obtain parental or legal guardian permission and judicial consent.
- Receive permission from both parents or legal guardian.
- If the minor's parents are dead, or if there is no legal guardian, permission must be received from a judge.
Kansas Officiants:Judges of a court record or any ordained ministers may perform wedding ceremonies in Kansas.
According to Kansas law, "the two parties themselves, by mutual declarations that they take each other as husband and wife, in accordance with the customs, rules and regulations of any religious society, denomination or sect to which either of the parties belong, may be married without an authorized officiating person."
Miscellaneous:A Kansas marriage license is valid for 6 months.
Curtis State Office Building
1000 SW Jackson, Suite 120
Topeka, KS 66612-2221
PLEASE NOTE:State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.
It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.