1. Dating & Relationships
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in our forum

New Hampshire Marriage License Information

By

If you've just set a date for your wedding, this can be an exciting time for the two of you!

Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a New Hampshire marriage license. We recommend contacting the City Clerk's office to verify this information and suggest that you get this legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your wedding date.

Congratulations and much happiness as you begin your lifetime journey together!

Requirements may vary as each county in New Hampshire could have their own requirements.

ID and Residency Requirements in New Hampshire:

You will need photo identification, such as your driver's license. If you are 25 years or younger, you may be asked to show a certified copy of your birth certificate. You will also need to provide Social Security numbers.

You do not have to be a resident of New Hampshire.

A marriage license in New Hampshire is valid for ninety (90) days.

Same-Sex Marriage:

Yes. Effective January 1, 2010, same-sex marriage is legal in New Hampshire. In the past, as of January 1, 2008, same-sex civil unions were allowed in New Hampshire.
FAQ About New Hampshire Civil Unions

Previous Marriages:

If you have been divorced, a certified copy of your divorce decree is required. If widowed, bring in a copy of your spouse's death certificate.

Waiting Period and Blood Test Requirement in New Hampshire:

None -- there is no waiting period in New Hampshire and there is no blood test requirement.

Although the waiting period was cancelled in 2006, you may still find official county or city websites that wrongly mention a 3-day waiting period to receive your marriage license. You can read the documentation in Title XLIII, Chapter 457 of the New Hampshire RSA for the full text of the law.

If you have questions, we recommend that you contact the City or County Clerk where you want to get married.

Fees in New Hampshire:

You will need to pay $45 in cash to get married in New Hampshire.

Under 18:

The law is complicated in New Hampshire. Individuals under the age of 18 may not marry in New Hampshire without parental approval and a judicial waiver. Brides must be at least 13 years of age and grooms must be at least 14 years of age before their parents can apply for a judicial waiver.

Proxy Marriage in New Hampshire:

No.

Cousin Marriage in New Hampshire:

No.

Common-Law Marriage in New Hampshire:

Not if you are both alive. Common-law marriages are only recognized in New Hampshire at death for estate/inheritance purposes. (N.H. RSA. 457:39)

Officiants in New Hampshire:

Weddings can be solemized by a judge, supreme court justice, assistant judge, justice of the peace, priest, rabbi, or minister residing in New Hampshire. Non-resident clergy need to receive a special license from the Secretary of State.

Copy of Certificate of Marriage:


Bureau of Vital Records
6 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: (603) 271-4651

PLEASE NOTE:

State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.

It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.