Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a North Dakota marriage license. We recommend getting this legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your wedding date.
Congratulations and much happiness as you begin your lifetime journey together!
Requirements may vary as each county in North Dakota could have their own requirements.
Residency Requirement in North Dakota:You do not have to be a resident of North Dakota. Non-residents need to acquire their marriage license in the county where they plan to marry.
ID Requirement:Driver's licenses and social security cards are required. If you don't have a driver's license, a certified copy of your birth certificate is acceptable.
Covenant Marriage Option:
Waiting Period in North Dakota:
Fees in North Dakota:
Common Law Marriage:
Same Sex Marriages:No. In November, 2004, voters passed a constitutional amendment banning same sex marriage.
Under 18:If you are between 16 and 18 years old, you will need the notarized consent of your parents.
Officiants in North Dakota:Any ordained or licensed clergymen, and justices of the peace.
Miscellaneous:License is valid for 60 days.
600 East Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58505-0200
Phone: (701) 328-2360
PLEASE NOTE:State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.
It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.