1. People & Relationships
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in our forum

U.S. Waiting Times After A Divorce

Marriage License Laws

By

Couple walking on the beach
ONOKY - Eric Audras/Brand X Pictures/Getty Images
If you are thinking of getting married right after being divorced, you need to know the waiting times that some states require before allowing you to get remarried. Here are the waiting time requirements after being divorced. This is only for U.S. marriage licenses. Make sure you check with your local marriage license office or county clerk to make sure that state requirements haven't changed.

A - L
M - Q
R - Z

A

  • Alabama: According to Section 30-2-10, there is a sixty (60) day restriction on getting married after a divorce.
  • Alaska: No restrictions after a divorce. Three (3) business days for all couples applying for a marriage license.
  • Arizona: None
  • Arkansas: None

    B

    C

  • California: None
  • Colorado: None
  • Connecticut: None

    D

  • Delaware: No restrictions after a divorce. For all couples applying for a marriage license, 24 hours. If both of you are nonresidents, there is a 96 hours waiting period.
  • District of Columbia: No restrictions after a divorce. Five (5) days for all couples applying for a marriage license.

    E

    F

  • Florida: No restrictions after a divorce. No waiting period for Florida residents have both completed a state sanctioned marriage preparation course within the last 12 months. There is a three-day waiting period for Florida residents who have not taken the course.

    G

  • Georgia: None

    H

  • Hawaii: None

    I

  • Idaho: None
  • Illinois: No restrictions after a divorce. For all couples who apply for a marriage license, 24 hours
  • Indiana: None
  • Iowa: No restrictions after a divorce. For all couples who apply for a marriage license, three (3) business days

    J

    K

  • Kansas:30 days. For all couples who apply for a marriage license, three (3) days
  • Kentucky: None

    L

  • Louisiana: No restrictions after a divorce. For all couples who apply for a marriage license, 72 hours

    Please Note:

    The above information is for guidance only. It is important that you verify all information before making any wedding or travel plans.

    A - L
    M - Q
    R - Z

  • ©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.